St. John's School

Teacher's Name: Mrs. Mary Makar

Grade/Subject:  Grade 5


March 2018

"Lucky is what happens when preparation meets opportunity." -Seneca

Each month, I will update this webpage with a brief overview of what we will be learning in each of our subject areas.  If you every have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Religion - We will continue to learn about the Sacraments of Initiation, continuing with Eucharist. We will also be learning about the holy season of Lent. Our project in Religion this month will include an exploration of the Catholic tradition of Stations of the Cross.

Science - Later this month, we will begin our unit on Biomes of the World. For this unit, we will get the special opportunity to have the Buffalo Zoomobile visit us with different animals!

Social Studies - We are studying Canada this unit in Social Studies. We will continue to refine our research skills with this unit.

Reading - This month in Reading, we will be completing a novel study of Because of Mr. Terupt by Rob Buyea. Ask your child about Dollar Words!

ELA - We will continue to work on Grammar Workshop and develop our reading response essays on our weekly story tests. 

Upcoming Events

Mass with Bishop Malone @ 9:00am on Thursday, March 1

Gym class with the Buffalo Bandits on Monday, March 5

$1 Catholic Charities Dress Down Day (Bandits Colors) on Tuesday, March 6

HSA Mandatory Parent Meeting on Thursday, March 8

No School - Staff Development on Monday, March 12

$1 Catholic Charities Dress Down Day (Green for St. Patrick's Day) on Tuesday, March 13

Irish Dancers Assembly on Friday, March 16

St. Joseph Day Table on Monday, March 19

$1 Catholic Charities Dress Down Day on Tuesday, March 20

Stations of the Cross @ 1:10 pm on Friday, March 23

Second Trimester Report Cards on Friday, March 23

$1 Catholic Charities Dress Down Day on Tuesday, March 27

Early Dismissal @ 11:00 am on Wednesday, March 28

No School - Holy Thursday/Good Friday on Thursday and Friday, March 29 and 30

-Mrs. Makar